Search this website
| Options Options
Search Type
New Zealand Mining Board of Examiners Appointed
Document Actions

New Zealand Mining Board of Examiners Appointed

02 October 2014

A highly experienced group of extractives industry practitioners has been appointed to set and assess competency standards of those working in safety-critical roles within the extractives industry.

WorkSafe NZ Board Chair, Professor Gregor Coster said new mining health and safety regulations and amendments to the Health and Safety in Employment Act came into force in December last year including a requirement for WorkSafe to establish the New Zealand Mining Board of Examiners.

“The New Zealand Mining Board of Examiners will advise the Board of WorkSafe on the health and safety competency requirements for workers in the extractives industry – a key recommendation of the Royal Commission on the Pike River Tragedy,” Professor Coster said.

The Board of Examiners will also examine applicants for certificates of competency and issue, renew, and suspend certificates of competency.  It has additional responsibilities to ensure training and continuing professional development programmes are fit-for-purpose.

The New Zealand Mining Board of Examiners will work closely with its Australian counterparts to ensure equivalent standards in both countries.

The Board of Examiners will be chaired by WorkSafe’s Chief Inspector, Extractives Tony Forster.

Working with Mr Forster will be 12 other industry experts including, operators, trainers, academics and union representatives.

“The establishment of the Board of Examiners is an important step in the extractives industry’s development and it will ensure New Zealand is matching international best practice in competency development, management and oversight,” Professor Coster said.


The Board members are:

  • Tony Forster, Chair - Chief Inspector, Extractives, WorkSafe New Zealand
  • Stephen Bell - Solid Energy
  • Michelle Crompton - MITO
  • Andrew Dallas - Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union, Australia (representing the EPMU)
  • Steven Ellis - Stevenson Resources Ltd
  • Andy Loader - First Rock Consultancy
  • Bernie O’Leary - OceanaGold
  • Marianne Rogers - Felix Services
  • Dr John St. George - Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Auckland
  • Iain Simmonds - McConnell Dowell
  • Craig Smith - Mining Consultant
  • David Stewart - MinServe International
  • Dean Torstonson - Orica Mining


Media centre

To view all of the latest media releases for WorkSafe New Zealand please visit our Media centre.

Media centre

Media contact details

For more information contact our Media Desk:

Phone 021 823 007 or